Friday, October 8, 2010

Melbourne Ice present AWIHL team

It has been grueling & intense, but finally the newly formed Melbourne Ice womens team has been announced by coach Lee Brown.

After three weeks of training both on and off the ice, with over 30 women stepping up to be apart of the action. The squad was finally to cut to 19 players, with an extra 5 players added to a 'Development Squad' where they will continue training with the Ice team throughout the season.

Lee Brown who is a very well respected coach, having been successful with his Junior Midget team, was given the chance to take charge & help the club search for finals action. He has been highly regarded as a very good tactical hockey coach & no doubt the squad he has selected, will be playing the Lee Brown way.

Finishing in third place after the 2009-10 season, Melbourne will definitely being looking at an improved year. Lee Brown has hand picked this current squad of players & will be looking upon each one of the 19 women selected, to play a role for the team as they search for the illustrious premiership in the AWIHL.

With the new season fast approaching, preparation is in top gear to ensure that Melbourne are there come finals time in February 2011.

D Blondin, Amanda
D Luis, Silvia
D Miousse, Annie
D Teed, Sarah
D Fogerty, Sarah
F Bibby, Melissa
F Carson, Georgia
F Dawson, Olivia
F Parrington, Lucy
F Theopholis, Christine
F Green, Shona
F Cockerell, Christine
F Tritter, Nicole
F Schoof, Jo
F Ganac, Shae
G Long, Sarah
G Reid, Emma
Tempel, Rita
Murray, Tracey
Developmental squad
DS Woods Tara
DS MacDonald Rhiannon
DS Manini Ashley
DS Narine Rebecca
DS Brophy Ruth
Presentation for the new & improved womens team, will be held on Friday 29 October 2010 at the Harbour Town Hotel. Jerseys will be presented to each one of the team members, as Melbourne looks forward to a successful womens ice hockey season.
For more information about the night, visit

By Andrew Macdougall

No comments:

Post a Comment